Puzzlemaster triple 2x2x2 cube

Puzzlemaster 2x2x2
Product photo from Serious Puzzles

Last Monday, my brother came home from the U.S. to spend his winter break with us. This is one of the things that I asked him to get for me. Instead of having my orders shipped all the way to here, I had it delivered to his apartment. That’s because Serious Puzzles ships anywhere in the U.S. for free for orders that cost at least $60.

No, this alone doesn’t cost $60! I also ordered other puzzles for myself and for my two friends who like these kinds of things as well.

Looking for a new twisty challenge

I got this puzzle because I wanted something more challenging than the regular 2×2. I thought of buying the quadruple 2×2 but changed my mind because I wanted to try the less complicated version first.

It’s not really a lot harder but it brought the challenge that I wanted. I really liked the concept of this puzzle, though I wish it had been bigger — like a bunch of standard 2×2 cubes linked together.

The feel of the puzzle

Puzzlemaster 2x2x2 packaging

There was nothing wrong about it being tiny but the small size could get in the way of solving it. Movements have to be more precise, and some faces don’t turn as smoothly as the others do. For instance, they can get stuck if the layers aren’t all lined up properly.

The yellow-green-purple face at one end turns really stiffly; sometimes I need to be a bit forceful, which can get really frustrating. Also, the shiny coatings of the stickers seem like they’re going to fall off if I’m not too careful or if I play with it too often.

The packaging and presentation are all right but I think it’s overpriced for its size and for the things I just mentioned above. It cost $12.95 when I bought it.

Puzzlemaster 2x2x2 scale
Puzzlemaster 2x2x2 with a 5-peso coin

The reason why I thought it was okay to buy it for its price was because I didn’t think it was that small. Serious Puzzles didn’t have scaled photos nor information on the product’s dimensions.

I guess it should be fine if I handle it with extra care. Overall, I think this triple 2×2 cube is an enjoyable puzzle and a cute addition to any cube collection!

Puzzlemaster 2x2x2 rulers
Scaled photo of the Puzzlemaster 2x2x2

Update (1 Aug 2021): I visited the website again to update the links. Apparently, their product photos now include rulers. They probably got comments regarding the lack of size info.

Share your thoughts!